Beautiful Brains

Zombies rose, but not like we expected. Not the drooling slow-witted undead. Rotting and ugly yes, but civilised.

I was a popular kid, adored for my looks. Girls would blush and stutter as male friends looked on in envy. It made me vain. Stupid, really.

I doubt any would envy me now.

I’m brought forward to the front and handed the microphone. I hear the question, but there’s no point even trying to guess. Bringing the mic to my lips, I respond:

“I don’t know.”

The crowd jeers, leaning forward in anticipation. Licking lips.

Brains. That’s all they’re interested in.

***

This was another Flash Fiction Challenge from Chuck Wendig. This week’s task was to write anything, but in just 100 words! (Commonly called a drabble). Mine is spot on the 100 mark. I hope you enjoyed my contribution!

One thought on “Beautiful Brains

Leave a Reply

